Pillars of Success

The University of Texas-Pan American and UTPA Alumni Association are proud to present the Pillars of Success, the University’s official “Alumni” awards. Honoring UTPA’s most distinguished alumni, the Pillars of Success celebrate a select group of Broncs for their inspirational stories and outstanding achievements. The Pillars of Success truly exemplify what being a Bronc is all about – excellence in profession and service to community and alma mater. Every Pillar of Success honoree will serve as a shining example for current and future Broncs.

2014 Pillars of Success
Lynda de La Viña, Ph.D.

Lynda has a distinguished résumé that includes becoming the first Mexican-American woman in the United States to earn a Ph.D. in economics, being named one of the country's most influential Hispanics, and being appointed as deputy assistant secretary of the Treasury for economic policy during President Bill Clinton’s administration. She is also an entrepreneur co-founding Operational Technologies Corporation, a company with various subsidiaries and interests. Read More. [ View Video ]

Rene L. Wallace
Dan Martinez

Dan, president and CEO Martinez & Associates, L.P., a successful sales tax consulting group in Houston, is also the president of the UTPA Houston Alumni Chapter, which is one of the largest Bronc chapters. Dan takes great pride in the thousands of dollars in scholarships raised by the Houston group each year for UTPA students from their area and for the group’s service to the community. Read More. [ View Video ]

Lydia Rendon
Daniel P. King, Ph.D.

Called a “Valley treasure,” Daniel has twice been named the most outstanding school superintendent in Texas and is known nationwide as a visionary and an innovator in college readiness and dual-language education. As superintendent of PSJA Independent School District he has transformed a troubled district with low graduation rates and low college-going rates into one that is hailed as a model for dropout prevention and college readiness. Read More[ View Video ]

Robert W. Feldtman, M.D.
Jose Daniel “Danny” Saenz

With a highly successful 26-year career with the Texas Department of Insurance, Danny has risen from examiner trainee to deputy commissioner and is an in-demand international consultant and presenter on issues related to the insurance industry and its regulation. In 2011, Danny received the prestigious Robert Dineen Award, NAIC’s highest individual honor in recognition of outstanding achievement as a career regulator. Read More. [ View Video ]

Ramon Garcia, J.D.
Pablo Vela Jr.

After building an outstanding accounting career, Pablo is enjoying a transition into retirement after more than four decades with the prestigious Rio Grande Valley accounting firm of Long Chilton, LLP. In his 41st year with the firm, he has been a partner, has been in charge of the McAllen office and in charge of the entire firm, and is now in an advisory “of counsel” role. Read More. [ View Video ]

Norma V. Cantu
Presidential Pillar
Presidential Pillar

For their immense dedication to the people of South Texas and the dreams of our young children, UT Pan American is proud to honor the Rio Grande Valley Legislative Delegation – Senators Juan “Chuy Hinojosa, Eddie Lucio Jr. and Representative Rene Oliveira along with Representatives Ryan Guillen, Armando “Mando Martinez, Eddie Lucio III, Sergio Munoz Jr., Terry Canales, Robert “Bobby” Guerra and Oscar Longoria – for their continued support and active involvement in the creation of The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley. Read More. [ View Video ]

President Pillars