Student Union header

Distinguished Speakers Series at the UTPA

The Distinguished Speakers Committee is charged with hosting events in which outstanding persons representing a variety of worldviews and backgrounds are selected to come to the university to speak and exchange ideas.

The series offers the UTPA community the opportunity to hear and engage speakers of the highest caliber. These individuals offer presentations at the campus that will educate and inspire our students.

The series is underwritten by student fees as recommended by the Student Affairs Advisory Committee. The committee also receives support from the UTPA Student Union and other University department.

All events are free and open to UTPA students, staff and faculty. Doors open to UTPA students, staff and faculty only with a valid UTPA ID at 7 pm. The general public will be admitted at 7:20 pm. Seating is limited.

For more information or special accommodations please call 956-665-7989.

Current Series

Distinguished Speakers Series 2013-2014

Fall & Spring Semesters    
Lara Ling portrait Laura Ling
September 30, 2014
UTPA Field House
John Legend portrait John Legend
February 2, 2015
UTPA Field House
“Get Lifted”

For more information, please call the Student Union at (956) 665-7989.

*events at 7:30 p.m.
Priority seating for UTPA students, faculty and staff with a valid UTPA ID card at 6:45 p.m.
Doors open to the public at 7:20 p.m.
You can view each program live, at


Past Series

Ruben Navarrete, Wednesday, October 16, 2013
Bill Nye, Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Dr. Michio Kaku, Monday, September 24, 2012
David Carrasco, February 20, 2013
Madeleine Albright, March 26, 2013

Dr. Maya Angelou, October 24, 2011
Thomas Friedman, February 29, 2012
Larry King, April 3, 2012

Simran Sethi, September 22, 2010
Parag Khanna, October 11, 2010
David Gergen, February 23, 2011
Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, March 28, 2011

Steve Wozniak, October 20, 2009
Dr. Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, November 17, 2009
Lisa Ling, February 2, 2010
Luis Alberto Urrea, March 23, 2010

Jeff Corwin, September 30, 2008
Jehan Sedat, November 17, 2008
Robert Ballard, January 2009
Judy Shepard, April 7, 2009

Mikhail Gorbachev, October 9, 2007
Robert Kennedy, November 14, 2007
Paul Rusesabagina, January 30, 2008
Denise Chavez, March 25, 2008