Close
 
 
  
    New Tab     
Student Government Association

Your Senate

What does your Student Senate do?

  • Formally report, present and or address SGA student issues / concerns.
  • Listen and formally document concerns from fellow students.
  • Vote to approve or deny: legislation (Bills and Resolutions)*, position appointments, and Special Fund Requests.

Body of the Student Senate:

Voting Members:

  • Senators
  • Senators at Large

Non-Voting Members:

  • President
  • Vice President (Chair of the Student Senate)
  • Senator Representatives

Structure of Your Student Senate:

Chair (Vice President of the Student Government Association)

  • The Chair resides over the Student Senate and facilitates debate and discussion as out lined by Roberts Rules of Order and the Student Government Constitution and Bylaws. It is the responsibility of the Chair to place items on and distribute the agenda at least 3 (three) days in advance of the next scheduled Student Senate Meeting.

Secretary:

  • The Secretary is an officer position of the Student Government Association filled by an appointed Senator of SGA. The Secretary’s role is to record the minutes of each Student Senate meeting to provide an accurate record of what occurred during the duration of the meeting.

Sergeant at Arms:

  • The Sergeant at Arms is an officer position of the Student Government Association filled by an appointed Senator of SGA. The Sergeant at Arms role is to call and keep a record of the roll of the members of the Student Senate and send out notifications concerning unexcused absences as out lined in the Student Government Association Constitution and Bylaws.

Meet Your SGA

Our Goals: Unifying UTPA One Bronc At A Time.

Unity. Most individuals will say unity stops at school spirit. However, we are going beyond that simple definition and branching out in order to take advantage of what true unity can do for this campus. Unity is when the various clubs and organizations present at our University work together towards a common goal. Unity is when our school works with surrounding cities and vice versa in order to ensure the needs of our our community are met. Unity is when students, faculty, and staff are able to sit down and reasonably discuss issues of concern. We will work with every aspect of our university to make certain the idea of unity exists within everyone. UTPA can make a great contribution to our world but our school must act as one in order for that to happen. In order to succeed, we must first unite.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. We'd love to hear from you!

Senators-At-Large

Bianca Blanco

Bianca Blanco
Senator-at-Large
Personnel Co-Chair
bnblanco@broncs.utpa.edu

Pamela Chavero

Pamela Chavero
Senator-at-Large
pnchavero@broncs.utpa.edu

Orlando Hinojosa

Orlando Hinojosa
Senator-at-Large
UCA Chair
ohinojosa1@broncs.utpa.edu

Albert Limon

Albert Limon
Senator-at-Large
Fiscal Chair
alimon1@broncs.utpa.edu

Lucero Ramirez

Lucero Ramirez
Senator-at-Large
PR Chair
lramirez7@broncs.utpa.edu

 

College of Arts & Humanities

Nicolas Haro

Nicolas Haro
Senator
nharo@broncs.utpa.edu

Fabian Moreno

Fabian Moreno
Senator
pfmoreno@broncs.utpa.edu

 

College of Business Administration

Alberto Adame

Alberto Adame
Senator
aadame1@broncs.utpa.edu

Kassandra Aleman

Kassandra Aleman
Senator
Secretary
kaleman@broncs.utpa.edu

Christopher Villarreal

Christopher Villarreal
Senator
Sergeant-at-Arms
cvillareal7@broncs.utpa.edu

Marlene Ayala

Marlene Ayala
Senator Representative
msayala@broncs.utpa.edu

Mauricio Lomeli-Martinez

Mauricio Lomeli-Martinez
Senator Representative
mlomeli@broncs.utpa.edu

Liliana Vazquez

Liliana Vazquez
Senator Representative
llvazquez@broncs.utpa.edu

 

College of Education

Brittany Gonzales

Brittany Gonzales
Senator
bamgonzales@broncs.utpa.edu

Yadira Mejia

Yadira Mejia
Senator Representative
ymejia@broncs.utpa.edu

Sarahi Ruiz

Sarahi Ruiz
Senator
sfruiz@broncs.utpa.edu

 

College of Engineering & Computer Science

Juan Carlos Lago

Juan Carlos Lago
Senator
jlago@broncs.utpa.edu

Santos Ramos

Santos Ramos
Senator
seramos@broncs.utpa.edu

 

College of Health Sciences & Human Services

Hilario Gonzalez

Hilario Gonzalez
Senator
hgonzalez@broncs.utpa.edu

Carla Fernanda Peña

Carla Fernanda Peña
Senator
cfpena@broncs.utpa.edu

Betzaida Rivera

Betzaida Rivera
Senator
brivera@broncs.utpa.edu

Virginia Villarreal

Virginia Villarreal
Senator
vnvillarreal1@broncs.utpa.edu

Humberto Zamudio

Humberto Zamudio
Senator
hmzamudio@broncs.utpa.edu

Joanna Alvarez

Joanna Alvarez
Senator Representative
jalvarez1@broncs.utpa.edu

Heather Gonzalez

Heather Gonzalez
Senator Representative
hngonzalez@broncs.utpa.edu

April Martinez

April Martinez
Senator Representative
amratinez3v@broncs.utpa.edu

Javier Segovia

Javier Segovia
Senator Representative
jsegovia1@broncs.utpa.edu

 

College of Science & Mathematics

Evan Schauer

Evan Schauer
Senator
easchauer@broncs.utpa.edu

Diana Sanmiguel

Diana Sanmiguel
Senator
Co-First Year Internship (FYI) Director
danmiguel@broncs.utpa.edu

Yesenia Velis

Yesenia Velis
Senator
yvelis@broncs.utpa.edu

Samantha Limon

Samantha Limon
Senator Representative
slimon1@broncs.utpa.edu

Everardo Ibarra

Everardo Ibarra
Senator Representative
efibarra@broncs.utpa.edu

Arnoldo Ortiz

Arnoldo Ortiz
Senator Representative
aortizz6@broncs.utpa.edu

 

College of Social & Behavioral Sciences

Ramiro Flores

Ramiro Flores
Senator
rflores1@broncs.utpa.edu

Cynthia Gonzalez

Cynthia Gonzalez
Senator
ccgonzalez3@broncs.utpa.edu

Catherine Payne

Catherine Payne
Senator
cipayne@broncs.utpa.edu

Johnathan Weisfeld-Hinojosa

Johnathan Weisfeld-Hinojosa
Senator
Personnel Co-Chair
jsweisfeldhinojo@broncs.utpa.edu

Mariana Adame

Mariana Adame
Senator Representative
madame4@broncs.utpa.edu

Ernest Baca

Ernest Baca
Senator Representative
ebaca@broncs.utpa.edu

Christina Cantu

Christina Cantu
Senator Representative
cccantu3@broncs.utpa.edu

Jonathan Salinas

Jonathan Salinas
Senator Representative
jlsalinase@broncs.utpa.edu

 

Judicial Branch

Sean Ramirez

Sean Ramirez
Chief Justice
saramirez4@broncs.utpa.edu

Victoria Velasquez

Victoria Velasquez
Associate Justice
vbvelasquez@broncs.utpa.edu

Mary Gaona

Mary Gaona
Associate Justice
magaona2@broncs.utpa.edu