Close
 
 

Honors Faculty

 

Bimal Banik, President's Endowed Professor
Chemistry Department
email: banik@utpa.edu
Research Interests: organic and medical chemistry of drug design.
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor
 


 Narayan G. Bhat, Professor & Chair
Chemistry Department
email: nbhat@utpa.edu
Research Interests: novel methodologies leading to stereodefined alkenes based on organometallic reagents.
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor
 


John R. Bokina, Professor Emiritus
Political Science Department
email: jb83e8@utpa.edu
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor, teaches Honors Humanities courses
 


Kenneth L. Buckman, Associate Provost
Office of Student Engagement & Experiential Learning
email: buckman@utpa.edu
Research Interests: 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor, teaches Honors Humanities courses
 


Kathryn J. Dodd, Lecturer (Deceased)
Biology Department
email: kdodd@utpa.edu
Research Interests: Biology, Phytoremediation and Conservation
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Writing Consultant - Sciences
 


Mohammed Farooqui, Professor and Chair
Biology Department
email: farooqui@utpa.edu
Research Interests: Toxicology, mechanism and mode of action of aliphatic nitriles.
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor
 


Zen Faulkes, Associate Professor
Biology Department
email: zfaulkes@utpa.edu
Research Interests: invertebrate neuroethology (brains and behavior), particularly decapod crustaceans and ascidian embryos.
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor
 


Gregory D. Gilson, Associate Professor & Chair
History and Philosophy Department
email: gilsongreg@utpa.edu
Research Interests: philosophy of mind, philosophy of science.
GHP Connection: teaches Honors Logic courses
 


Scott Gunn, Professor
Biology Department
email: sgunn@utpa.edu
Research Interests: scope and mechanism of genomic and chromosomal evolution in selected mammals and their parasites.
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor
 


Ken Grant, Lecturer
History and Philosophy Department
email: kgrant@utpa.edu
Research Interests: church history, church (state relations), the papacy, the mediterranean world, and the history of food and agriculture. GHP Connection: Teaches HONR 2387 Humanities I

 


Lee Hamilton, Professor
English Department
email: lhamilton@utpa.edu
Research Interests: the Romantic Period, the Victorians, Bibliography.
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor


Amy Hay, Assistant Professor
Department of History and Philosophy
email: ahay@utpa.edu
Research Interests: Post-1945 America, Women & Gender, Medicine & Environment.
GHP Connection: Honors Faculty


Stephen C. Leach, Associate Professor
Philosophy Department
email: sleach@utpa.edu
Research Interests: 19th Century philosophy - Kierkegaard
GHP Connection: Serves on the Honors Council
 


Adelle N. Mery, Lecturer
English Department
email: amery@utpa.edu
Research Interests: American literature 1850-Present
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor, teaches Honors English courses


Rebecca Mitchell, Assistant Professor & Literature Coordinator

English Department
email: mitchell@utpa.edu
Research Interests: Comparative Literature

GHP Connection: Teaches HONR 2388 Humanities II 


Glenn R. Morgan, Lecturer
Political Science Department
email: gmorgan@utpa.edu
GHP Connection: Teaches Honors Political Science courses
 


Michael W. Persans, Associate Professor
Biology Department
email: mpersans@utpa.edu
Research Interests: Herbicide metabolism and tolerance in plants. Metal hyperaccumulation in plants. Use of remote sensing to monitor plant stress and physiology.
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor
 


Jerry L. Polinard, Professor
Political Science Department
email: polinard@utpa.edu
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor
 


Dora E. Saavedra, Associate Professor
Communication Department
email: saavedra@utpa.edu
Research Interests: Applied organizational communication, conflict management, and interpersonal communication.
GHP Connection: Honors Thesis Advisor
 


Monty B. Taylor, Professor
Mathematics Department
email: taylor@utpa.edu
Research Interests: Multiplicative lattices, Commutative algebra
GHP Connection: Teaches Honors Mathematics courses
 


Cindy Martinez-Wedig, Lecturer, head of Baylor Medical Program
Biology Department
email: cindy@utpa.edu

Research Interests: Curriculum development.