Close
 
 

Psychology Faculty

James W. Aldridge Jr.

James W. Aldridge Jr.

Professor
jaldridge@utpa.edu | (956) 665-3325 | SBSC 352
Education: Ph. D., State University of New York, Binghamton
Specialization:  Perception, Memory, Cognition
Research Lab:  Situation perception and institutional decision making
Vita

Grant Benham

Grant Benham

Professor
gbenham@utpa.edu | (956) 665-2807 | SBSC 345
Education: Ph.D., University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Specialization:  Health Psychology
Research Lab:  Stress & Health
Vita

Kristin l. Croyle

Kristin L. Croyle

Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
Professor
kcroyle@utpa.edu | (956) 665-7919 | SSBL 3.101
Education: Ph.D., University of Montana
Specialization:  Adult clinical psychology, Neuropsychology
Vita

Russell Eisenman

Russell Eisenman

Associate Professor
eisenman@utpa.edu | (956) 665-3327 | SBSC 363
Education:  Ph.D., University of Georgia
Specialization:  Evolutionary Psychology, Human Sexuality, Creativity, & Crime
Vita

Zina Eluri

Zina Eluri

Assistant Professor
eluriza@utpa.edu | (956) 665-2808 | SBS 301
Education:  Ph.D., Eastern Michigan University
Specialization:  Behavior Analysis, Clinical Child Psychology, & Developmental Disorders
Vita

Frederick Ernst

Frederick Ernst

Professor
fernst@utpa.edu | (956) 665-3323 | SBSC 341
Education:  Ph.D., Ohio State University
Specialization:  Clinical
Research Lab:  Behavioral Neuroscience & Psychopathology
Vita

Maureen Flynn

Maureen Flynn

Assistant Professor
flynnmk@utpa.edu | (956) 665-2662 | SBS 302
Education:  Ph.D., University of Mississippi
Specialization:  Clinical Psychology
Research Lab:  Contextual Behavioral Science Lab
Vita

Philip Gasquoine

Philip Gasquoine

Professor
pgasquoine@utpa.edu | (956) 665-2155 | EDC 1.202A
Education:  Ph.D., City University of New York
Specialization:  Clinical Neuropsychology
Research Lab:  Clinical Neuropsychology
Vita

Genaro E. Gonzalez,

Genaro E. Gonzalez

Professor
ggonzalez@utpa.edu | (956) 665-5022 | SBSC 339
Education:  Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz
Specialization:  Social, Cultural
Vita

Michiyo Hirai

Michiyo Hirai

Associate Professor
hiraim@utpa.edu | (956) 665-2638 | SBSC 369
Education:  Ph.D., Virginia Tech
Specialization:  Clinical
Research Lab:  Anxiety Disorders
Vita

Joseph D. Hovey

Joseph D. Hovey

Professor & Chair
hoveyjd@utpa.edu | (956) 665-7877 | SBSC 356A
Education:  Ph.D., University of Michigan
Specialization: Clinical Psychology, Culture & Mental Health, Suicide Risk & Protective Factors
Research Lab: Immigration and Mental Health
Vita

Valerie James-Aldridge

Valerie (Wendy) James-Aldridge

Associate Professor
wjames@utpa.edu | (956) 665-3330 | SBSC 349
Education:  Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
Specialization:  Animal Behavior
Research Lab:  Behavior Research
Vita

Jerwen Jou

Jerwen Jou

Professor
jjou@utpa.edu | (956) 665-2689 | SBS 365
Education:  Ph.D., Kansas State University
Specialization:  Cognitive
Research Lab:  Memory
Vita

 

Gary Leka

Gary Leka

Lecturer
leka@utpa.edu | (956) 665-2162 | SBSC 367
Education:  M.A., University of Texas-Pan American
Specialization: 
Research Lab: 
Vita

Alfonso Mercado

Alfonso Mercado

Assistant Professor
amercadoz3@utpa.edu | (956) 665-3320 | SBSC 355
Education:  Ph.D., Fielding Graduate University
Specialization:  Clinical, Latino Mental Health and Treatment Outcomes
Research Lab:  Clinical and multicultural research
Vita

Valerie Neeley

Valerie Neeley

Lecturer
vnmoreno@utpa.edu | (956) 665-7342 | SBSC 354
Education:  M. A., University of Texas - Pan American
Specialization:  Developmental – Social
Vita

Jason Popan

Jason Popan

Assistant Professor
popanj@utpa.edu | (956) 665-7879 | SBSC 357
Education:  Ph.D., University of Texas, Arlington
Specialization:  Social
Research Lab:  Social and Political Behavior
Vita

Ramirez Maria

Maria Ramirez

Lecturer
mromero@utpa.edu | (956) 665-5354 | SBSC 359
Education:  Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Specialization:  Developmental – Social
Vita

Laura Seligman

Laura Seligman

Associate Professor
seligmanl@utpa.edu | (956) 665-2866 | SBSC 303
Education: Ph.D., Virginia Tech
Specialization: Clinical Child, Internalizing Disorders in Youth
Research Lab: Internalizing Disorders in Youth
Vita

Liza Talavera-Garza

Liza Talavera-Garza

Lecturer
talaveragarzal@utpa.edu | (956) 665-3733 | SBSC 361
Education:  Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Specialization:  Community, Health
Vita

Amy Weimer

Amy Weimer

Associate Professor
aweimer@utpa.edu | (956) 665-2650 | EDC 1.202B
Education:  Ph.D., Arizona State University
Specialization:  Developmental
Research Lab:  Social Cognitive Development
Vita

Mark Winkel

Mark H. Winkel

Graduate Program Director, Associate Professor
winkelm@utpa.edu | (956) 665-3328 | SBSC 358A
Education:  Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
Specialization:  Social, Psychophysiology
Research Lab:  Social Psychology Lab
Vita