History of Department

Formed in 1973, the Department of Political Science prides itself on being one of UTPA's most student-oriented departments. The Student Political Science Association was the first of its kind on campus and the department developed the "Student Bill of Rights," ultimately adopted campus-wide under the title, "Faculty Classroom Responsibilities" (see HOP 7.4.3). The department houses the university's pre-law program and department faculty sponsor several student organizations.

The department faculty members have received nine Outstanding Faculty Awards for teaching, research and service, and two UTPA Alumni Association Distinguished Faculty Awards.

Mission Statement

The University of Texas-Pan American (UTPA) serves the higher education needs of a rapidly growing, international, multicultural population in the South Texas Region. The University preserves, transmits and creates knowledge to serve the cultural, civic, and economic advancement of the region and the state. The University provides students advanced instruction in academic programs offered through innovative delivery systems that lead to professional certification, and baccalaureate, master's and doctoral degrees. Through teaching, research, creative activity and public service, UTPA prepares students for lifelong learning and leadership roles in the state, nation and world community.