Department of Educational Psychology

Dr. Nancy Razo
Program Coordinator
Education Complex-EDUC 1.638
(956) 665-3490

Department of Educational Psychology
Education Complex- EDUC 1.302
Phone: (956) 665-3466
Fax: (956) 665-2395

School Psychology (M.Ed.)

Program Overview/Accolades


The purpose of the 69-hour School Psychology Master of Arts degree program is to prepare school psychologists to work with children, adolescents, and families from diverse socio-cultural and linguistic backgrounds. The degree program includes a year-long supervised internship. The UTPA School Psychology program is in accordance with the scientist-practitioner model of training, which emphasizes school psychologists to use empirical research in practice. The program training includes preparation in mental health and educational interventions, child development, learning, behavior, motivation, curriculum and instruction, assessment, consultation, collaboration, school law, and school systems.

School Psychologists help children and youth succeed academically, socially, behaviorally, and emotionally. They collaborate with educators, parents, and other professionals to create safe, healthy, and supportive learning environments that strengthen connections between home, school, and the community for all students. In the state of Texas, the license that is required by the Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists (TSBEP) to provide school psychological services in Texas public schools is the Licensed Specialist in School Psychology (LSSP).

Why a master’s in School Psychology?....Below are just a few accolades…

  • Dr. Carlson is the UTPA Miguel A. Nevarez Endowed Chair, UTPA College of Education Distinguished Research Award December 2012, UTPA College of Education Excellence Award in Research December 2013.
  • The UTPA School Psychology Program is the only program of its kind south of San Antonio.

Time to Degree: Varies on whether you are going full time or part time.

Total Credit Hours: 69 hours

  • Apply Now
  • Request More Information
  • Office of Graduate Studies