Close
 
 
Mexican American Studies website
  • Location: EDCC 2.216B
  • Phone: 956.665.3212
  • Email: mas@utpa.edu

MAS Scholars and Artists

MAS FACULTY

College of Arts and Humanities
1.Alessandri, Mariana – Philosophy (alessandrima@utpa.edu)
Continental, Existentialism, Spanish-language Philosophy
2.Alvarez, Stephanie – Modern Languages and Literatures (smalvarezm@utpa.edu)
Spanglish and Transcultural Identity, Latin@ Literature and Cultural Studies, Critical Latina@ Spanish Language Pedagogy.
3.Bradley, Robert– Art History (bradleyrc@utpa.edu)
Pre-Columbian Architecture
4.Cole, Debbie – English (dcole@utpa.edu)
Multilingualism and Cultural diversity, Language Attitudes and Accents, Border Linguistics
5.Coronado, Juan–History (jcoronado@utpa.edu)
6.Cortina, Guadalupe – Modern Languages and Literatures (gcortina@utpa.edu)
Latina/o representation in the Media, Latin American Literature by Women, Border Literature, Chicana/Latina Writers, Contemporary Mexican Narrative
7.Cummins, Amy-English (cumminsae@utpa.edu)
English Education, Children's and Young Adult Literature
8.De La Trinidad, Maritza– History (delatrinidadm@utpa.edu)
9.De Souza, Roberto– Art History (desouzacr@utpa.edu)
Art and Politics in Latin America, History of Photography, U.S. Latina/o Art
10.Guerra, Petra – Communication (cielito@utpa.edu)
Sex Education in the schools; Effects of increased awareness about advertisements for alcohol, Sexual Health Representations in Spanish Language Media
11.Hernández, Sonia – History (shernandez11@utpa.edu)
U.S.-Mexican Borderlands, Chicana/o history, Intersections of Gender and Labor, Historical memory, and Modern Mexico.
12.Johnson, Robert – English (rjohnson@utpa.edu)
Mexican American Writers
13.Levinson, Irving – History (iwlevinson@utpa.edu)
U.S- Mexican Relations and Modern Mexico
14.Loera, Francisco – Music (franciscol@utpa.edu)
Latin American Music, Mariachi / Mexican Folk Music
15.Martínez, Glenn – Modern Languages and Literatures (martinezg@utpa.edu)
Heritage Language Pedagogy, Spanish Sociolinguistics, Language and Healthcare
16.McMahon, Marci – English (mcmahonmr@utpa.edu)
Chicana/Latino Literature, Theater, and Performance, Gender Studies, U.S. Multiethnic Literature, Cultural Studies, and American Studies.
17.Moreira, Robert–English (rpmoreira@utpa.edu)
18.Ochoa, Edna – Modern Languages and Literatures (lochoa4@utpa.edu)
Chicana/o Literature, Creative Writing, Latin American Literature
19.Paccacerqua, Cynthia – Philosophy (paccacerquacm@utpa.edu)
Chicana and Latin American Feminist Philosophy, Latin American Philosophy, Contemporary Continental Philosophy
20.Pastrano, Guillermo – History (pastranojg@utpa.edu)
Borderlands, Mexican American Labor and Immigration
21.Pérez, Laura Emmy – English (lperez16@utpa.edu)
Contemporary poetry, Creative writing, Chicana/o literature, Cross-genre writing, U.S. multi-ethnic literature, Service learning.
22.Platt, Kamala – English (kplatt@utpa.edu)
Environmental & Borderland Literature
23.Ragland, Catherine – Music (raglandca@utpa.edu)
Music and Migration, Deejay Culture, Globalization and Transnational Networks
24.Skinner, Jose – English (jskinner@utpa.edu)
Creative Writing, English/Spanish translation and interpretation.
25.Stehn, Alexander – Philosophy (stehnav@utpa.edu)
American & Latin American Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophy of Religion
26.Trott, Adriel – Philosophy (trotta@utpa.edu)
Ancient Greek, Political Philosophy, Feminism, Border Philosophy
27.Wallace, Ned – History (ewallace@utpa.edu)
Río Grande Valley History and Activism

College of Social and Behavioral Science 1.Alfaro, Edna – Psychology (ecalfaro@utpa.edu)
Latino Adolescents and Families, Academic Resilience, Gender, Culture
2.Bustamante, Juan José – Sociology (jbustamant@utpa.edu)
Postmigration Experience, Gender and Family, Globalized Families, Cultural Transnational Social Reproduction.
3.Díaz, Barriga Miguel – Sociology (diazbarrigam@utpa.edu)
Border Culture, Environment and Immigration Policy.
4.Dorsey, Margaret – Anthropology (dorseyme@utpa.edu)
Immigration, Language and Culture, Border Studies, Transnationalism, Feminism, Expressive Culture, Ethnomusicology, Ethnicity, the Americas, Mexicanas/os.
5.García, Jesse – Sociology (garciaja@utpa.edu)
Race and Ethnicity and Combination of Culture, Immigration, Theory, Latino Studies and Borderland Issues
6.Graham, Peg – Anthropology (mgraham1@utpa.edu)
Applied Anthropology, Culture, Health, and Nutrition, Maternal and Child Health, Aging, Latin America, U.S. Latinos, U.S. Mexico Border
7.Guerra, Ramon – Sociology (rsg6faa@utpa.edu)
Interethnic Relations, Ethics Groups, Ethnomedical Practices of Latinos
8.Hinojosa, Servando – Anthropology (hinojosas@utpa.edu)
Chicana/o Culture, Medical Anthropology, Midwifery, Ethnobotany, Bonesetting, Embodiment.
9.Lavariega, Monforti, Jessica – Political Science (lavariegaj@utpa.edu)
Politics of Race, Ethnicity, Gender, and Immigration, Latina/o Politics, Public Opinion & Urban Politics.
10.Pozorski, Sheila -Anthropology (spozorski@utpa.edu)
Development of Complex Societies, Archaeological Ethnobotany and Ethnozoology, Prehistoric Agriculture.
11.Pozorski, Tom - Anthropology (tpozorski@utpa.edu)
New World Archaeology, South American Culture.
12.Resendiz, Rosalva – Criminal Justice (resendiz@utpa.edu)
Criminology & Criminal Justice, Mexican American/Border Studies, Race/Class/Gender, Social Theory, Women’s Studies, Rio Grande Valley Social Problems and Crimes
13.Rogers, Darrin – Psychology (drogers1@utpa.edu)
Sexual Deviance in Border and Minority Communities, Cultural Variables and Resiliency.
14.Saavedra Cisneros, Angel –Political Science (asaavedracisneros@utpa.edu)
Political Psychology, Methodology, Political Economy
SBSC 228
15.Weimer, Amy-Psychology (aweimer@utpa.edu
- Theory of mind development, emotion understanding in children, and cultural factors that affect social cognitive development.
College of Education
16.Diaz, Zulmaris-Curriculum and Instruction (diazz@utpa.edu )
17.Esquierdo, Joy – Bilingual Education (esquierdo@utpa.edu)
Bilingual and ESL Education, Educational Leadership.
18.Gonzalez, Irasema – Curriculum and Instruction (gonzalezi@utpa.edu)
19.Guadarrama, Irma – Department of Curriculum and Instruction (guadarramain@utpa.edu)
Service Learning, Bilingual Education.
20.Guajardo, Francisco – Educational Leadership (guajardo@utpa.edu)
Curriculum Development, Community Leadership, Youth Community Leadership, Latino Epistemologies, Latino Education, Rural Education, College Access, Leadership in the Arts.
21.Menchaca, Velma – Educational Leadership (menchaca@utpa.edu)
Multicultural Education, Sociocultural Issues, Culturally relevant content, Curriculum Development.
22.Milk, Christopher–Curriculum and Instruction (milkcl@utpa.edu)
23.Murillo, Luz - Department of Curriculum and Instruction (murillola@utpa.edu)
Transnational Migration, Literacy in a Mexican community.
24.Reyes, Maria Elena-Curriculum and Instruction (mereyes2@utpa.edu )
 

Health Sciences and Human Services 1.Arizmendi, Lydia – Social Work (lydiaa@utpa.edu)
Health Care Among Rural Mexican Americans, Neighboring and Community Organizing in Colonias, Mexican American Women Activists in the Rio Grande
2.Barrera, Iran – Social Work (lydiaa@utpa.edu)
Mental Health Disparities in Latino Communities, Cultural Competent Practices
3.Díaz, Hector – Social Work (hdiaz@utpa.edu)
Social Development, Poverty, Social Policy, and Diversity.
4.Nieto, Beatriz – Nursing (bcnieto@utpa.edu)
Narratives of Facing Personal Mortality in the Breast Cancer Experience of Mexican American Women
5.Ramírez, Noe –Social Work (noermz@utpa.edu)
Rural Development and Planning, Latino Social Services, Mental Health, and Substance Abuse Counseling, and Clinical Supervision in Psychiatric Settings, Mexican American Culture and Activism
6.Shirley, Rombough – Social Work (srombough@utpa.edu)
Latinas in Politics, Nutrition in the Rio Grande Valley, Health Care Disparities in the Rio Grande Valley
7.Scoggin, Angela – Dietetics, Occupational Therapy, and Pharmacy (ascoggin@utpa.edu)
Mexican American Elders’ Perspectives on Education
 

College of Business Administration
1.Dávila, Alberto – Economics (adavila@utpa.edu)
Economics of the U.S.-Mexico Border, the Economics of Immigration, and Hispanic Labor Markets.
2.Mora, Marie – Economics (mtmora@utpa.edu)
Labor economics, Hispanic Labor-Market outcomes and the Economics of the U.S.-Mexico Border.