Close
 
 
Mexican American Studies website
  • Location: EDCC 2.216B
  • Phone: 956.665.3212
  • Email: mas@utpa.edu

MAS Scholars and Artists

MAS FACULTY

College of Liberal Arts

1.Alessandri, Mariana – Philosophy (alessandrima@utpa.edu)

Continental, Existentialism, Spanish-language Philosophy

2.Alvarez, Stephanie – Mexican American Studies (smalvarezm@utpa.edu)

Spanglish and Transcultural Identity, Latin@ Literature and Cultural Studies, Critical Latina@ Spanish Language Pedagogy.

3.Cole, Debbie – English (dcole@utpa.edu)

Multilingualism and Cultural diversity, Language Attitudes and Accents, Border Linguistics

4.Coronado, Juan–History (jcoronado@utpa.edu)

5.Cortina, Guadalupe – Modern Languages and Literatures (gcortina@utpa.edu)

Latina/o representation in the Media, Latin American Literature by Women, Border Literature, Chicana/Latina Writers, Contemporary Mexican Narrative

6.Cummins, Amy-Literature and Cultural Studies (cumminsae@utpa.edu)

English Education, Children's and Young Adult Literature

7.De La Trinidad, Maritza– History (delatrinidadm@utpa.edu)

8.Diaz, Barriga Miguel-Sociology (diazbarrigam@utpa.edu)

9.Dorsey, Margaret – Anthropology (dorseyme@utpa.edu)

Immigration, Language and Culture, Border Studies, Transnationalism, Feminism, Expressive Culture, Ethnomusicology, Ethnicity, the Americas, Mexicanas/os.

10.Graham, Peg – Anthropology (mgraham1@utpa.edu)

Applied Anthropology, Culture, Health, and Nutrition, Maternal and Child Health, Aging, Latin America, U.S. Latinos, U.S. Mexico Border

11.Guerra, Ramon – Sociology (rsg6faa@utpa.edu)

Interethnic Relations, Ethics Groups, Ethnomedical Practices of Latinos

12.Hinojosa, Servando – Anthropology (hinojosas@utpa.edu)

Chicana/o Culture, Medical Anthropology, Midwifery, Ethnobotany, Bonesetting, Embodiment.

13.Johnson, Robert – Literature and Cultural Studies (rjohnson@utpa.edu)

Mexican American Writers

14.Lavariega, Monforti, Jessica – Political Science (lavariegaj@utpa.edu)

Politics of Race, Ethnicity, Gender, and Immigration, Latina/o Politics, Public Opinion & Urban Politics.

15.Levinson, Irving – History (iwlevinson@utpa.edu)

U.S- Mexican Relations and Modern Mexico

16.McMahon, Marci – Mexican American Studies (mcmahonmr@utpa.edu)

Chicana/Latino Literature, Theater, and Performance, Gender Studies, U.S. Multiethnic Literature, Cultural Studies, and American Studies.

17.Ochoa, Edna &ndash Literature and Cultural Studies (lochoa4@utpa.edu)

Chicana/o Literature, Creative Writing, Latin American Literature

18.Paccacerqua, Cynthia – Philosophy (paccacerquacm@utpa.edu)

Chicana and Latin American Feminist Philosophy, Latin American Philosophy, Contemporary Continental Philosophy

19.Resendiz, Rosalva – Criminal Justice (resendiz@utpa.edu)

Criminology & Criminal Justice, Mexican American/Border Studies, Race/Class/Gender, Social Theory, Women’s Studies, Rio Grande Valley Social Problems and Crimes

20.Savedra Cisneros, Angel –Political Science (asaavedracisneros@utpa.edu)

Political Psychology, Methodology, Political Economy

21.Stehn, Alexander – Philosophy (stehnav@utpa.edu)

American & Latin American Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophy of Religion

22.Wallace, Ned – History (ewallace@utpa.edu)

Río Grande Valley History and Activism

23.Weimer, Amy-Psychology (aweimer@utpa.edu

- Theory of mind development, emotion understanding in children, and cultural factors that affect social cognitive development.

College of Fine Arts

1.Amando, Andres – Music Ethnomusicologist( amadopinedaar @utpa.edu)

Teaching of music and culture of Latin America

2.Bradley, Robert– Art History (bradleyrc@utpa.edu)

Pre-Columbian Architecture

3.De Souza, Roberto– School of Art (desouzacr@utpa.edu)

Art and Politics in Latin America, History of Photography, U.S. Latina/o Art

4.Loera, Francisco – Music (franciscol@utpa.edu)

Latin American Music, Mariachi / Mexican Folk Music

5.Moreira, Robert–English (rpmoreira@utpa.edu)

6.Pérez, Laura Emmy – English (lperez16@utpa.edu)

Contemporary poetry, Creative writing, Chicana/o literature, Cross-genre writing, U.S. multi-ethnic literature, Service learning.

College of Education and P-16 Integration

1.Diaz, Zulmaris-Bilingual and Literacy Studies (diazz@utpa.edu )

2.Esquierdo, Joy – Bilingual Education (esquierdo@utpa.edu)

Bilingual and ESL Education, Educational Leadership.

3.Gonzalez, Irasema – Human Development and School Services (gonzalezi@utpa.edu)

4.Guadarrama, Irma – Bilingual and Literacy Studies (guadarramain@utpa.edu)

Service Learning, Bilingual Education.

5.Guajardo, Francisco – Organization and School Leadership (guajardo@utpa.edu)

Curriculum Development, Community Leadership, Youth Community Leadership, Latino Epistemologies, Latino Education, Rural Education, College Access, Leadership in the Arts.

6.Menchaca, Velma – Organizatioin and School Leadership(menchaca@utpa.edu)

Multicultural Education, Sociocultural Issues, Culturally relevant content, Curriculum Development.

22.Reyes, Maria Elena-Teaching and Learning (mereyes2@utpa.edu )

 

College of Health Affairs

1.Nieto, Beatriz – Nursing (bcnieto@utpa.edu)

Narratives of Facing Personal Mortality in the Breast Cancer Experience of Mexican American Women

2.Ramírez, Noe –Social Work (noermz@utpa.edu)

Rural Development and Planning, Latino Social Services, Mental Health, and Substance Abuse Counseling, and Clinical Supervision in Psychiatric Settings, Mexican American Culture and Activism

3.Scoggin, Angela – Occupational Therapy(ascoggin@utpa.edu)

Mexican American Elders’ Perspectives on Education

 

College of Business and Entrepreneurship

1.Contreras Salvador – Economics (contrerass@utpa.edu)

Human capital development on economic growth and political economy

2.Dávila, Alberto – Economics (adavila@utpa.edu)

Economics of the U.S.-Mexico Border, the Economics of Immigration, and Hispanic Labor Markets.

3.Mora, Marie – Economics (mtmora@utpa.edu)

Labor economics, Hispanic Labor-Market outcomes and the Economics of the U.S.-Mexico Border.