The Center for Online Learning, Teaching and Technology

State Authorization

Online education is an integral part of UTPA's program offerings, with many students participating in federal financial aid. Recent amendments to the Higher Education Act of 1965 include changes in regulation for State Authorization that may impact online, distance, and correspondence education providers.

In compliance with the USDOE State Authorization Regulations in Section 600.9 of the Oct. 29, 2010, final program integrity rule, The University of Texas System on behalf of the University of Texas Pan American has made a "good faith effort" in pursuing state authorization from all 54 states and territories within the U.S.

UT System and UT Pan American are currently working cooperatively with higher education authorities in all states and other U.S. jurisdictions to ensure compliance with any other state and federal authorization requirements that govern the offering of online courses in those states, including complaint processes. UT System and UTPA will continue to monitor developments in the jurisdictions in which it enrolls students, and, if authorization or licensure is or becomes necessary, it will obtain approvals.

These states are those in which UTPA has written approval to offer online degree programs or has confirmed that UTPA has been granted an exemption:

  • Arizona
  • California (Exempt based on online only)
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii (Exempt based on online only)
  • Idaho (Exempt based on online only)
  • Indiana (Exempt based on online only)
  • Iowa (Exempt based on online only)
  • Louisiana (Exempt based on online only)
  • Maryland (Exempt based on online only)
  • Michigan (Exempt based on online only)
  • Montana (Exempt based on online only)
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire (Exempt based on online only)
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Oklahoma (Exempt based on online only)
  • Rhode Island (Exempt based on online only)
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennesee (Exempt based on online only)
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin (Exempt based on online only)