Department of Nursing
October 21, 2016


Departmental Mission

The Nursing Department supports the mission of the College of Health Sciences and Human Services through programs that educate individuals to meet the health care needs of a culturally diverse society. These programs facilitate the development of competent practitioners with critical thinking skills to provide holistic nursing care to individuals, families, groups, and communities. A commitment to fostering research and service that enhance health promotion, maintenance, and restoration is integral to the mission of the Nursing Department.

General Overview

The Nursing Department offers two programs: a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and a Master of Science in Nursing. Each program is fully accredited by the Texas Board of Nursing.

The Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) for registered nurses was established in 1983, and the generic BSN program was initiated in Spring 1992. The Masters of Science in Nursing (MSN) program with a clinical specialization in adult health was approved in 1993 and admitted its first students during Summer 1994. The MSN program has since added a Family Practitioner track. Both the BSN and MSN programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE).

1201 W. University Drive Edinburg, TX 78539-2999
956/665-UTPA  1-866-441-UTPA
UTPA Bronc